Watch instead of engagement ring? I need your suggestions
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Watch instead of engagement ring? I need your suggestions

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Watch instead of engagement ring? I need your suggestions

Hi All,

This is probably a strange one. Please let me know if I'm posting in the wrong spot as I'm new.

My SO and I have recently been discussing marriage. He asked me what kind of ring I might be into and honestly…….I'm just not. I don't like diamonds as they're just not me and they seem like a waste of money So…I'm thinking about suggesting a watch instead. I wear a watch every day and I've always wanted a nice one for every day. I know I'd love it every day and never regret not getting a ring. I'm just starting to think about what I might like to suggest (or leave photos of lying on the coffee table!) and I'd be very grateful for some suggestions about what to check out.

A bit about me in case it helps. I'm an early 30s female. I'm a lawyer and work in a large firm but in a very low-key type of law. I wear a suit to Court but my workplace is generally "business casual". Outside of work I mostly wear jeans and Converse. I'm feminine but not girly - I wear makeup, paint my nails etc but that's about it. Most importantly, I have always worn very little jewellery - silver studs and a watch. I like mens watches generally. I have a vintage Omega Seamaster (50s vintage) on a leather band which I inherited from my great Uncle and had restored as my 30th gift to myself, however I mostly wear this in the evening as I consider it as more of a dress watch. During the day I've been wearing the same boyfriend-style Fossil for the last 5 years . A watch obviously makes more sense than a ring!

Parameters are as follows:
    • Budget no more than AUD$10,000 (probably about USD$7,000 on the current exchange rate)
    • No quartz
    • Stainless steel - no gold, no two-tone
    • Bracelet - no leather
    • No diamonds except MAYBE as markers