Watch Issues... What's wrong? How'd it happen? What to do?

Thread: Watch Issues... What's wrong? How'd it happen? What to do?

Watch Issues... What's wrong? How'd it happen? What to do?

I’m not a watch expert but I wanted a nice-ish watch to wear (in addition to my Seiko 5 beater). So about a year ago I bought a 1983 Seamaster. I realize it’s an older watch but I thought, perhaps naively, that it’s not ancient so that if I got it serviced by someone competent and took reasonably good care, it’d serve me well… but that has not been the case and I’m looking for some insight regarding what’s wrong, how it got messed up and what to do.

As soon as I got the watch I sent it away to a guy who is very highly recommended both here and on Timezone. Lots of positive reviews and I’ve never seen a negative word said about his work. Six or seven months later the watch was returned to me. I wore the watch for three or four months before it was so messed up as that it wasn’t functioning. I’m not a watch expert but I think I took pretty good care of it during the couple of months I wore it (with the exception of #2 below)… never got it wet, never wore it during sports, didn’t drop it, etc.

The issues:
    (1) Power Reserve: only holds 6-8 hours. This was the case from day one when the watch was returned to me after servicing. I didn’t do anything about this because I was anxious to wear it after waiting months for it to be serviced and decided that this was something I could live with. In retrospect, maybe I should have done something about this.
    (2) Mis-Aligned Hour/Minute Hands: Because of the power reserve problem described above I was setting the time on the watch pretty much every morning. One morning I was setting the time and (based on what was explained to me here) believe I adjusted the time backwards while the date function was engaged. There was a small pop sound and the hands became misaligned (i.e. when the hour hand is at 12 the minute hand is not).