Watch news site with some level of criticism?

Thread: Watch news site with some level of criticism?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Watch news site with some level of criticism?

I am relatively new to collecting watches, but reading through the various news sources, I see a lot of puff pieces and press release re-prints. I suppose I was wondering if there was a more critical press available? Stuff like "Why is this movement being sold in an over-priced case for $xK?", or "the finishing is inferior to these 5 brands..." or even "hooray, X brand releases yet another color variation on the same watch and charges $2K more for it..."

Askmen's Watch Snob seems to be the only critical press out there, and, well, let's just say that the whole schtick, lack of consistency, and not very critical evaluation really isn't helpful. PuristS tend to get the depth, but of course they just review very high end stuff where it generally is just a matter of taste rather than construction quality.
    Current Rolex Sub-C 116610LN | Panerai PAM127 | Autodromo Monoposto | Obris Morgan Branco | Bvlgari Diagono Chrono CH35SAUTO
    WTB UG Compax | Ralph Lauren Sporting Automotive RLR0211700 | A. Lange & Sohne 1 109.025 or 101.030

Re: Watch news site with some level of criticism?

Good question, I'm curious about that too. Going to keep an eye on this post :)
    chris

Tissot PRC 200
    Steinhart Ocean Vintage Military
    Steinhart Nav B-Uhr II
    Seiko SKX781 "Orange Monster"
    Seiko SRP043 "Spork"
    Seiko SNZF11 "Mini Sumo"
    Citizen ProMaster BJ7010-59E "Nighthawk"
    Citizen ProMaster Aqualand AL0000-04E
    Casio G-Shock GW-9200-1ER "Riseman"
    Casio G-Shock DW-5600BB-1ER
    Timex 4655410878 (birthyear watch)
    Vratislavia Conceptum Heritage Chrono

Quote Originally Posted by akatsuki View Post