Watch related trip over Europe. Let's convince my wife.
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Watch related trip over Europe. Let's convince my wife.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Watch related trip over Europe. Let's convince my wife.

So, i'll be 40 soon and to treat myself, i thought to go on a 14 day trip in Germany and Switzerland (by car) to follow a "watchmakers" path. I'm from Europe and i know my way around it, but i have no knowledge of towns/cities with watch workshops or factories.

I know such a path doesn't exist, but as much as i know, most known watch brands stick together (location wise), specially German ones. And German watches are my main interest (Laco, Stowa, Nomos, Damasko, Sinn, IWC, Junghans, different Glashutes, etc...), but i would also like to jump over to Switzerland and visit their known watchmakers (Omega, Mido, Zenith, Tudor). Those are the brands that interest me mostly. I'll be probably ready to buy myself a watch on that trip too, but mostly it's about experience and get to know some brands more closely and maybe meet the people working there.

The trip must also be interesting for my wife, so any suggestions about places to visit are good.

The problem is, i have no idea, if you can just visit a watchmaker? Do they have a museum maybe or even their own boutique? i would hate to bang my head on a locked door.
    Can you just walk in there or do you need to make special arrangements?

I thought we could compile a list of watchmakers (of those i listed) with their real workshop locations and write down which ones are accessible for "normal" person and what can you see there?
    People with local knowledge or those that were already visiting some locations are very much invited to write their thoughts!
    Last edited by Gargamel35; August 7th, 2019 at 11:11.
    Panerai Luminor 0000 Logo
    Laco Leipzig Erbstuck
    Mido Multifort
    Seiko SDGM003
    EMG DL63
    Poljot Aviator IV
    Orient Ray (blue)
    Orient Bambino IV blue