What % of your salary do you spend on watches?
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: What % of your salary do you spend on watches?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

What % of your salary do you spend on watches?

What percentage of your yearly salary(after taxes) do you spend on watches? DO NOT mention the amount(either the cost of the watches or your salary) . Just the % will do. We wouldn't want to have a "Who is a millionaire?" thread here, would we? :P
    I am a student presently so cant give an amount yet..and would like to know how much you guys spend on this "unhealthy" hobby.

Re: What % of your salary do you spend on watches?

Been asked many times. Here's a typical one.

https://forums.watchuseek.com/f2/what...ch-861155.html

There are fathers who do not love their children; there is no grandfather who does not adore his grandson. ~ Victor Hugo

I'm a kept man, so depending on how you look at it all or nothing :). Joking of course. I have no idea too much.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

I'm a put first things first (retirement savings, kid's education, etc) kind of guy. I'm also hugely quality over quantity. I go years in between buying watches.

If I add up lifetime income from earnings and lifetime spending on watches, it's about three tenths of one percent.

That said. I wish I bought a good quality mechanical right at college graduation (my parents were quite poor, I didn't expect or receive a graduation gift) or receiving my commission (Army Officer) vs. waiting until I was 45. Despite my fiscal focus, I think it's very nice to mark such occasions with a splurge. A one time expenditure of that nature isn't likely to impact your long term financial success.

IMHO, it's unwise to put yourself under financial strain for something as trivial as a watch. If you're there, it might be an unhealthy addiction.

That said, if you can afford it, good for you and have at it.