What I learned from buying a watch I don't like
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: What I learned from buying a watch I don't like

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

What I learned from buying a watch I don't like

I made what I thought was a low bid on ebay for a watch that looked interesting to me. I'm a noob and still learning. On of my strategies in any new endeavor is to make a lot of cheap mistakes. I learn faster that way. Maybe the watch should remain nameless. It's not it's fault. But here's what I know now.

1. I don't want a day function. I've reminded myself that I didn't like this when I was a kid. Still don't like it.
    2. Watches with mechanical movements that cannot be wound are just weird. Yes, it's automatic, but I want to also be able to pick it up and wind it. I'll never knowingly buy another non-electric watch that cannot be wound.
    3. Blue faces are not for me. Yes, it can look nice, but it seems so confining. I don't always wear blue.
    4. Date functions should only be on quartz watches. I don't mind setting the time when I pick a watch up, but also having to set the date somehow is just too much trouble for a lazy guy.
    5. The face can be too small. And it's not just a function of millimeters. I have other watches this size or smaller, but this one just 'looks' too small.

I suppose some will argue, but this is just me. I've never sold a watch before, but after wearing this for two weeks it may be time.

Good lessons and part of the fun of the hobby. It eats even more interesting as your tastes evolve and you find yourself breaking your own rules.
    Borealis Adraga
    AQ4020-54X / 03E
    GF-8251K, GMW-B5000D/TB/TFC,
    GWF-D1000NV,
    IW356501
    MKII x HALO Airborne, Hellion, PMWF Graywater GMT
    Oris Carl Brashear Bronze
    PP5711
    SBDX013, SBGA001, SPB089

116610LV, 116520

Your strategy for teaching yourself sounds better than mine.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Owner of a bunch of cool watches.

4. Remove Advertisements