What should I get for my first watch? Please recommend.

Thread: What should I get for my first watch? Please recommend.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

What should I get for my first watch? Please recommend.

Dear all,

I'm a newbie in the watch world, am currently looking for a recognizable swiss made watch (yea I'm looking forward to owing a swiss made ) to step into a 2nd stage of life .
    Now the problem is that I have not much idea on what brands are off better quality, value for money, long lasting value, etc... I'm actually thinking about Maurice-Lacroix Pontos Grand Guichet GMT, but i'm not sure about its reputation in the watch industry, its quality, and the brand's background...
    I'm also open for Omega speed master chronograoph date, baume&mercier classima XL Executive, classima XL chronograph.. anyone has any good recommendations on watch i can look at please advice , and yea I'm looking at automatic/hand winding watches, and my budget is below USD2000.. so not anything above that please, or I would definitely feel bad while looking at a fine piece yet not able to own it .
    Thanks all.

Re: What should I get for my first watch? Please recommend.

Welcome! Glad to have another member joining!

Looks like you've got some good ideas. Lots of folks around here (and elsewhere) have gotten the Omega SMP or Speedy as there first automatic. A classic Swiss timepiece. You should be able to find near mint versions of these watches on the sales forums here and various other watch forums.

With that price range you may even be able to afford a version of a Rolex, albeit not in near mint but still excellent condition.

Others to consider: Ball Watch makes some beautiful watches and are really up and coming even though they've been around since 1891.

Breitling makes fascinating watches and in your price range if you buy used again. You may actually even be able to find a new one if you bump up your range a tad.

Same goes for IWC but that may push your limits.