What is your longest 'up-time' for an automatic/mechanical watch without resetting?
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: What is your longest 'up-time' for an automatic/mechanical watch without resetting?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

What is your longest 'up-time' for an automatic/mechanical watch without resetting?

I work in IT and one thing that computers do, especially Unix and Unix-like servers is keep track of how long it has been running, since the last reboot. It used to be a bit of a thing to brag about (or take note of) of how long a server has been running (reliably) without ever restarting it. For some servers this is multiple years.

I was wondering if anyone with one or more mechanical watches has one that has been running continuously for a long time WITHOUT having reset / corrected the time using the crown. (Letting it rest in a particular position to keep it on time is okay).

Of course this also depends on what sort of error someone is okay with.. Personally if it gets more than 30 seconds then I'm feeling tempted to set the time again, with 1 minute being the absolute limit.

Some watches of course are really very accurate, so does anyone have one that has been running for weeks or even months without having set the time again? Watch winders may help with this, as would having a limited number of watches in your rotation so there's one that never really comes to a stop.

I'm hitting one month with an Orient Ray (Currently at +12) and Seiko Cocktail Time (+21, though less variation per day on that one).

I also wonder if more accurate chronometer watches might keep clocking up the same +3 or +4 seconds every day no matter how you rest them, making them inevitably out of whack after a week or two. Whereas more pedestrian movements can be kept in line longer, by placing it in a certain position at night.

What's your record? Pictures appreciated, just to brighten things up. ;)
    Last edited by hantms; April 5th, 2015 at 07:18.