What ~$2500 (new or secondhand) "timeless" watches are the best investments?
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: What ~$2500 (new or secondhand) "timeless" watches are the best investments?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Question What ~$2500 (new or secondhand) "timeless" watches are the best investments?

I am new to watches and am looking to get a new or secondhand "timeless" watch in the $2500 range.

I would prefer that the price remains the same, or goes up in value, so I won't take a loss when I resell it.

What would you recommend?

Re: What ~$2500 (new or secondhand) "timeless" watches are the best investments?

Watches are not investments.

Re: What ~$2500 (new or secondhand) "timeless" watches are the best investments?

Quote Originally Posted by Watchbreath View Post
    Watches are not investments.
    Why not?

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Do a search, there's lots of answers there.
    Quote Originally Posted by bradsherman View Post
    Why not?

Well, I don't think there is a single watch available that if you buy new for $2500 you will be able to sell for $2500 in the future. Your best bet is to go the pre-owned route. Pick a brand that has a lot of price increases over time, since that will cause the value of pre-owned pieces to remain stable.

I dont think watches are investments. That being said I would buy a Omega PO or Speedmaster.

I think a pre-owned/used/second-hand Speedmaster or Planet Ocean probably won't lose you money in the short term.
    In the long term, they may even increase in value but whether that increase matches let alone beats inflation is another matter.

I think the moment for buying vintage and watching its value skyrocket has passed.

Thoughts for the day:
    facts, experience, opinion - figure which yours is before you start typing
    DM's Ghetto Watch Polishing Guide