What's with all the Bronze?
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: What's with all the Bronze?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

What's with all the Bronze?

I am relatively new to watch collecting but for the life of me I cannot see what the rage is all about in Bronze. It seems everyone is racing to get a bronze model to market, led by the micro brands. IMHO the bronze look is not at all appealing and then add patina, wow not in the least bit attractive to me. Maybe in some circles (salvage divers maybe) this is a good look but everywhere else??? Don't get me wrong, I am not judging those who have a bronze watch but would help me with this is a better to understand the appeal.

Questions:

- Is there some historical significance to a bronze watch?
    - Is this trend more fashion based or is there a spike in salvage diving profession <= just kidding?
    - Is there a technical reason that bronze makes for a better case material than SS when it comes to high corrosion environments (like salt water)?

Sorry for my ignorance but maybe this would appeal to me more if I know what was driving this.

Re: What's with all the Bronze?

Well, in general, we buy watches for aesthetic purposes, so looks is a big thing. And when it comes to aesthetics, it's normally dictated by trends and fads (like the whole wall clock on your wrist thing). When it comes to fads, there's this recent trend when it comes to ageing. These days, a lot of things come pre "aged" like jeans, guitars, motorcycles (covered in rust or "patina"), vintage looking this and that. So, I guess it was bound to transfer to watches.