What's up with Cuervo y Sobrinos
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: What's up with Cuervo y Sobrinos

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

What's up with Cuervo y Sobrinos

I'm relatively new to watch collecting and have been watching the forum for a bit of time so please be kind as I ask my first question.

I've become interested in Cuervo y Sobrinos pieces, especially the gold Flameante, reference 3130.9FB, but I'm confused about what they're trying to do.

This piece retails at $14K, which seems like a heck of a lot of money for an ETA-based watch considering more established brands with in house movements are in that price range. A Calatrava or 36mm Lange is only a little more money and an IWC Portofino are less, each of which have in house movements, better brands (which equates to holding more value), and better finishing. The Arnold & Son HMS1 Royal Blue looks similar, has an 8 day power reserve, and is available around $7K from ADs. I also see gray market Cuervos going for less than half their retail price, which tells me they're struggling to sell at the ADs.

The blue Flameante looks like a good piece and that dial but I can't understand this pricing. I'm thinking its MSRP is at least double what it should be. Am I missing something? I know none of us have insight to Cuervo's management so we're all guessing, but I'd sure appreciate your perspectives.

Thanks in advance...
    Sebast975 likes this.

Re: What's up with Cuervo y Sobrinos

Quote Originally Posted by aceswerling View Post
    The blue Flameante looks like a good piece and that dial but I can't understand this pricing. I'm thinking its MSRP is at least double what it should be. Am I missing something? I know none of us have insight to Cuervo's management so we're all guessing, but I'd sure appreciate your perspectives.

Thanks in advance...
    Try this thread.