what's your idea on luxury watches?

Thread: what's your idea on luxury watches?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

hi everyone, I'm the newbie here. Currently I'm working on a school project to design a luxury sport watch and personally I'm not a very big fan of watches (going to be after all the research finding, ). so there are some info that I would like to gather before I start to set direction on my design.

1. What does a watch mean to you other than telling the time? Do you consider it as a must have?

2. When you buying a watch, what are the things that you will normally seek for? Is it the brand, the appearance, the technology, the functions, the material used or some other points?

3. Would you prefer your luxury watch to be simple and classic or something that looks cool and exotic, such as Zenith, Franc Vila, Urwerk?

your feedbacks will mean a lot to me. Very appreciated. thank you.

Vancouver Island / California (depending on the citizenship I use)

Re: what's your idea on luxury watches?

There's a similar topic on here that deals with 'what we look for' in a watch - you might want to check that out. For me, as i said there, I want the watch to be aesthetically pleasing - simple. Less is very often more in watch design, for me. In that vein, material is not important, really. Most of my favorite watches are stainless steel. Chronographs should be simple, and easy to read (look to the Omega Speedmaster). Watches without additional functions should be simple and easy to read at a glance (I like the IWC Spitfire). A degree of water resistance is important. Not every watch needs to go to 300 M, but if I get it wet when I fall in a pool (as I often do) it should hold up.