Why Accuracy is overrated (though Swiss watches might not be): A timing experiment
Like Tree106Likes

Thread: Why Accuracy is overrated (though Swiss watches might not be): A timing experiment

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Why Accuracy is overrated (though Swiss watches might not be): A timing experiment

Finally able to share the results of my timing project and get feedback from my fellow WISers on some unresolved questions. Why did I do this? Simple. I’m new to this “hobby” and wanted a way to evaluate and compare watches based on their performance. Fair warning, this is a ridiculously long post, so you may want grab a p̶o̶t̶ ̶o̶r̶ ̶t̶w̶o̶ ̶o̶f̶ coffee if you decide to take the plunge. Happy reading.

PART I: MOTIVATION AND AIMS
    Despite being the “watch guy” in my social circles, I still marvel at how much I’ve learned in the short time I’ve spent on this site. I couldn’t be more grateful to all of you who make WUS such a fine place for watch-lovers to learn, laugh, and share. With that said, I do on occasion privately bemoan the tendency for so many of the reviews, recommendations, and just good old rants/raves about watches (or brands) to focus primarily on aesthetics. In fairness, other factors are routinely referenced—as one would expect from an enthusiast site like this one—but even then, I’ve found that most rarely venture beyond A) other subjective criteria like brand pedigree or reputation, OR B) static characteristics like materials and fit/finish. The former are endlessly debatable—while the latter are of limited scope and practical utility. Neither scratches the itch for an overly empirical, performance-obsessed enthusiast like myself.