Why a Mineral Crystal in Skyhawk AT

Thread: Why a Mineral Crystal in Skyhawk AT

Why a Mineral Crystal in Skyhawk AT

Greetings,

To preface this question, I am a complete newbie when it comes to watches.

I saw an advertisement for the Citizen Skyhawk AT and immediately realized that I had to have one. (There may be a few here that can relate to that feeling. )

My current Citizen Eco-Drive "World Time" has a sapphire crystal. Even though I try to be careful, it has taken some pretty hard knocks over the 5 or 6 years I've owned it (banging against doorways and such) and come out unscathed.

While researching the Skyhawk, I found that it's crystal is made of mineral, not sapphire.

How easily does a mineral crystal scratch? Are some mineral crystals more resistant to scratching than others?

Why would Citizen use what is apparently an inferior crystal material in what I assume is one of their "flagship" watches?

Thanks in advance.

Bob

vandice

Re: Why a Mineral Crystal in Skyhawk AT

Yes, I agree the mineral crystal is a minus on the Skyhawk for general use.

However, I would like to point out that some really tough watches like Sinn were/are equipped with acrylic crystals. One should bear in mind that though scratch resistance is superior, sapphire is also very brittle, which means it can crack/break on impact or sudden pressure changes. The Omega Speedmaster, the watch that made it to the moon and back, was also acrylic topped, as were some deep divers. Mineral crystals, though not as scratch resistant, can also take shocks better than sapphire. I'll also choose a coated mineral over an uncoated sapphire, depending on the dial color and watch type.

So I'll hesitate calling mineral 'inferior' without weighing other factors. However, I believe Citizen will introduce a model with sapphire in next year's model.