Seamaster quartz stopped question

Thread: Seamaster quartz stopped question

Seamaster quartz stopped question

I have a OMEGA Seamaster Professional 300 ref. 2541.80.00 with a Cal.1438 which I haven't used for weeks, I've worn my Speedmaster most of the time and an Applewatch (i know :)).
    Last week i checked the time and adjusted the date and everything looked fine, no 4 sec jumps etc.(don't know the age of the battery).
    Today the watch had stopped, well it looked like the second juddered a little bit, but it didn't move.
    I assumed it was the battery and since I had a brand new one at hand I decided to change it.
    After I fitted the new battery it's been working fine.
    The strange thing is that the voltage on the old battery was fine, so I was wondering what could have caused it to stop?.
    Has anyone else experienced this?.

Re: Seamaster quartz stopped question

Could be a number of things - for example did you clean thoroughly all around the case back before removing it - if not then debris can easily enter the movement. The contacts could have been dirty and the battery wasn't able to put that voltage into the movement.

Note that although putting a new battery in may have solved this for now, the watch should at least occasionally get checked by someone who has all the proper testing equipment to determine if the movement needs attention. Checking base consumption, total consumption, EOL, LWL, resistance of coils, etc.

Cheers, Al

Quote Originally Posted by Archer View Post
    Could be a number of things - for example did you clean thoroughly all around the case back before removing it - if not then debris can easily enter the movement. The contacts could have been dirty and the battery wasn't able to put that voltage into the movement.