Ticking sound speeding up when setting the time on Speedmaster
Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By Reynold
  • 4 Post By Archer
  • 2 Post By Archer

Thread: Ticking sound speeding up when setting the time on Speedmaster

Ticking sound speeding up when setting the time on Speedmaster

Hi all!

I got a Speedmaster (hesalite) a couple weeks ago. I noticed that when I'm setting the time on it, the ticking (beat per second) is speeding up and then slowing down when I let go of the crown. (At least the ticking sound is going faster) It's speeding up as I turn the crown to set the time. Then it's fine. Is this suppose to happen? The watch is keeping good time. (Although I do not own a timegrapher. I'm crazy enough as it is) Is this some quirks or should I be worried? Couldn't find anything online.

Thank you!

Re: Ticking sound speeding up when setting the time on Speedmaster

I noticed about this as well. I'm a bit ocd about my watch. After i set the time, i found that the watch become around 2s faster before setting the time forward. I think the same thing occured to mine as well
    Jncky likes this.
    Orient Star WZ0291DK JDM
    Omega Seamaster Professional Diver 300M 210.30.42.20.01.001
    Omega Speedmaster Professional "Moonwatch" 311.30.42.30.01.006

This is because the tension on the cannon pinion is possibly a little too much. The cannon pinion slips when you set the time, but there is friction there that essentially adds torque to the wheel train and increases balance amplitudes to the pint the watch runs a bit faster when you move the hands forward. It may also cause the watch torun backwards when you are moving the hands back in time, which is something you don’t want to happen.