Help building a Poor Mans Marine Master!
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Help building a Poor Mans Marine Master!

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Help building a Poor Mans Marine Master!

Hello everyone

Im pretty new to the Watchuseek forums and already gotten alot of help! I was looking at the SKX007. But after looking at more pictures, I saw people modify their seiko divers to look like a Marine Master. I wish i could afford a marine master, but they still cost $2000 brand new?

So i would like to make a a Poor Man's Marine Master. I think there is 2 ways of doing this?

First way by using a SKX007 watch, SKX171 dial face, Samurai Hands, the date will be in White.

Second way by using SKX171 watch, SKX007 Bezel, Samurai Hands, the date will be in Black.

I have some questions, what is the difference between the two watches SKX007 and SKX171? Which one is better stock? Like do they work exactly the same as each other, just different looks? Is the SKX007 and SKX171 same sizes or is one a bit bigger than the other?

If the two watches are the same, i think i will want to build my Poor mans marine master with a SKX171 watch as base. This is because i will only have to add a SKX007 bezel and Samurai Hands. Also the date is Black from the stock SKX171 which i think looks nicer and blends in better than a White date from SKX007.

I am still very new to watches and this will be my first watch and pretty sure i want to modify it like this. Is there someone who can help me build this with the right parts and does anyone know approximately how much it would cost to make this?

I will post the 2 versions i mentioned, the SKX171 base and a SKX007 base. SKX171 is the one with the Black date which i think looks better. SKX007 is the one with the White date.

Thanks!

Name:  SEIKO7S26-7020SKX171PMMM_Dial3.jpg
Views: 11480
Size:  85.8 KB

Name:  normal_IMG_8896.jpg
Views: 10785
Size:  42.7 KB

Re: Help building a Poor Mans Marine Master!