WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

My first automatic... SKX, or other?

3K views 27 replies 19 participants last post by  Tickstart 
#1 ·
Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie to the world of 'proper' timepieces, and looking to get myself a nice, respectable automatic diver.
Coming from a background of low-end "fashion" watches (I've got a few Nixon Sentry quartz watches) and smartwatches (a Garmin Fenix 5), my knowledge of automatics is fairly non-existent.

I'd like to get an automatic diver as I really like the way in which they have a tool-like appearance but can also come across quite well when worn with a suit or casually. And I'd really like to see what an automatic is like.
I've had a look at some of the popular Youtube channels such as the Urban Gentry, Just One more Watch and Teddy Baldassarre to get some ideas of what's available for my budget, and I think I may have come to a conclusion.

Potentially looking at purchasing a Seiko SKX007, but I gather these have been discontinued and have been replaced by the Seiko SRPD range (Seiko 5 Sports), so thought i'd ask a few questions here to see what the horology community thinks about my potential choice...

• SKX007 and SXK009 prices are around ~£250 (rubber strap) and ~£300 (jubilee) due to being discontinued. Are these overpriced for what the SKX offers?
  • I would be replacing the strap straight away, so I assume it would be better to purchase the cheaper of the two? Unless there is a reason to get the jubilee over the rubber?
  • Is the Japanese version of the SKX worth the extra price hike in comparison to the Malaysian version? (J versus K).
  • The Seiko SRPD range (5 Sports) borrows a lot from the SKX, but appears to me as more of a fashion item than a diver (100m water-resist, no screw down crown). Is this worth a look?