new SRP513 gaining 100 secs/day -- needs regulation, or something worse wrong?
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: new SRP513 gaining 100 secs/day -- needs regulation, or something worse wrong?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

new SRP513 gaining 100 secs/day -- needs regulation, or something worse wrong?

After an old quartz watch I was wearing finally gave up the ghost, I bought a new SRP513K1 from seiko3s at Rakuten. The transaction went smoothly, and I like the watch -- everything is nicely aligned, fit and finish are nice.

However, I received it two days ago, and in those two days it has gained about 100 seconds per day.

Based on what I've read here, I could return it to seiko3s -- they seem to be good about that sort of thing. However, rather than be without a watch for three weeks, I was thinking about taking it to have it regulated, or maybe doing it myself (I'm an engineer, which just means I break things with higher confidence than I would if I were a literature major).

My concern though, is whether the watch being so far out of spec might mean that there's something worse wrong with it than simply needing regulation? If you have experience with this family of movements (4R36 and related movements), please comment.

Re: new SRP513 gaining 100 secs/day -- needs regulation, or something worse wrong?

A watch should never ship that is out of spec so if your variance was within that spec regulation should put things right. A variance outside the spec MAY be a sign that something is wrong and would cause me to send it back.

Re: new SRP513 gaining 100 secs/day -- needs regulation, or something worse wrong?

Well, I think I might take your advice. Regulating it myself seems like a fun project, but I'm not ready to take on any issues that aren't as simple as moving the regulator bar.

I've sent them email; I'll report on what I hear back.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

JR1