Aquis date with metal bracelet: Should I take 43mm Aquis or 46mm Small Seconds for this wrist?
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Aquis date with metal bracelet: Should I take 43mm Aquis or 46mm Small Seconds for this wrist?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Aquis date with metal bracelet: Should I take 43mm Aquis or 46mm Small Seconds for this wrist?

Hi,

I just started to get interested in the mechanical watches about a year ago so I'm relatively new to this. I wanted to share my plans for the first purchase of a Swiss watch so it was a time to write my first post in here.

I'm now planning to purchase my first "quality watch" with a solid metal bracelet. After checking many different brands and models I have chosen Oris Aquis Date (or Small Seconds) because I just love the heavy metal bracelet and the overall quality that I can get for this price. Ball Hydrocarbon Ceramic XV was nice too but too expensive at least for now.

I will buy the sunburst blue or normal blue 43mm or sunburst blue 46mm. However, I'm still undecided which size would fit better my wrist. I know this is also a matter of my personal preference but I would like to hear your opinion on this. I have not found the 46mm model with the metal bracelet on any local ADs I have visited so I can only give you wrist shot with the 43mm. For me it the bracelet was just perfect but the 43mm dial looked just a bit too small in real life (in this picture it looks good to me) and the dial felt also a bit small & thin compared to the muscular bracelet. Thinner case would be beneficial when wearing with dress shirts at work, but the 15.5mm thick case on the 46mm model shouldn't me impossible to pull of with dress shirts either.

My wrist is just shy of 8" and the flat area is about 50mm. Forearms and arms are quite thick due to weightlifting (if it makes any difference). What would be your choice: 43mm or 46mm?

Any comments and/or pictures (especially for the Small Seconds) are more than welcome!

Name:  Oris Aquis.jpg