Help! total newb looking at Oris Altex Skeleton
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Help! total newb looking at Oris Altex Skeleton

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Help! total newb looking at Oris Altex Skeleton

Hi everyone,

First post here. Last time I bought a good brand name watch was over a decade ago (Tissot T-Touch) and it served me well. Recently I decided to change it up a bit and went for a Junkers Bauhaus Chrono. However, I think I got bit by the watch collection hobby I use to have and now I'm looking at everything left and right.

I came across the Oris Altex Skeleton and fell in love with it instantly, however I don't think I can dish out 2500 USD right now so I'm thinking of waiting for say 2 to 3 years and then pick it up used. Is this a good idea? And where can I actually find used Oris? I'm really a newb in this stuff.

On a side note, could anyone please tell me a bit about the Oris name brand? two weeks ago I never heard of it. If I understand correctly, it's in the league of Tissot?

Also, I am cross shopping the Rado Diamaster Skeleton. That is more expensive I know, but I am familiar with the Rado name brand and thought it might hold value better hence being a better money purchase. I also saw the Tissot Skeleton but I didn't like it as much as the Oris.

Side side note: I am primarily shopping for mechanical skeletons and I saw the Piaget Altiplano Skeleton... if money was no object, that 60k USD watch would be on my wrist right now. That is the prettiest watch I ever saw in my life.

Re: Help! total newb looking at Oris Altex Skeleton

I think most people would place Oris well above Tissot in the rankings. I find them rather difficult to place as in a lot of areas I would not be afraid to put them in a ring with Omega but their use of non in-house movements means they can't really compete with Omega in that field of combat.
    mpalmer likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by sticky View Post