• 1 Post By yankeexpress
  • 3 Post By SHANE 1000
  • 1 Post By Karkarov
  • 1 Post By Jules1967
  • 1 Post By Nokie

Thread: Can I Change this Strap?

Can I Change this Strap?

Hello everybody,

I'm looking for a blue watch. I should probably mention that I'm a woman with a 6.5-7 inch wrist. Anyway I like this one but the strap looks really thick and too chunky for me. The ebay link shows better close-up photos of the band. In a review somebody mentioned that it's also totally inflexible, permanently rounded and won't lie flat.

I'm very new to watch geekdom but I do have the correct little springbar thingy to pop the strap off to replace it. My question is that it looks like a bit of an unusual shape and am wondering if this will be possible or not?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Bulova-Marine-Star-96B65-Mens-Watch-/162255067510

Name:  s-l300.jpg
Views: 136
Size:  15.3 KB

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Re: Can I Change this Strap?

You could get that bracelet off, but the lug width is very small, guessing about 12-14mm and probably only a custom made leather strap would fit.

Owners of Oris Aquis have the same issue and there are custom strap makers who can make it work, for a price. I don't know that price, but a look over at the Oris forum might give some idea of a solution.
    Last edited by yankeexpress; December 14th, 2016 at 08:35.
    Karkarov likes this.

YES in answer to your question, however it would end up being as thick if not thicker than the bracelet at the lug area and would require double layering and some creative skill there, mainly because the bracelet has a rounded section on the face side and a normal fitment at the lugs, the rounded section would be stiff and would need to be pre curved so when the strap was fitted that rounded section doesn't just pop up like a rounded shark fin in the water when curved around your wrist.