Newbie with a strap question...

Thread: Newbie with a strap question...

Newbie with a strap question...

Hi Everyone,

I'm pretty new to watch collecting (I get the feeling it's going to be costly both in time and money! But I can't wait to get more into it!) and also new to the WUS forum.

I own a fossil, seiko chronograph and a citizen eco-drive at the moment (all quartz), but am wanting to get a few automatics. I'm pretty mad on seikos at the moment. I'm desperate to get a SKX007 (I hear great things about them!), but thought I's start with a cheaper Seiko 5 Auto.

I've also bought the tools to change batteries and straps/bracelets, which leads me to my question.

I wanted to get a seiko 5 like this one-
    Name:  SNKK55K1_MED.jpg
Views: 127
Size:  37.9 KB

And then change the bracelet to a leather strap. As you can see though, the space between the 'lugs' is very small, maybe 10mm?

So how would I go about adding an after market strap that was a similar width to the original? (22mm or something like that)

I had the same problem with my fossil, but I bought a cheap rubber strap from ebay and cut the 'shoulders' of the strap out with a stanley knife to make it fir the lugs. But this isn't ideal, and wouldn't look good doing that on a nice leather strap for a decent Seiko.

I assume you must encounter this often? Any ideas?

Thanks in advance, this site has helped a lot already.

Re: Newbie with a strap question...

You got it - cut (or notch) the strap. That's about the only option. And for that reason, a lot of people around won't buy watches with lugs like that - me included.