"Standard" vs "Premium" leather straps

Thread: "Standard" vs "Premium" leather straps

"Standard" vs "Premium" leather straps

So I'm relatively new to the watch game, and I'm looking for my first strap purchase. I'm seeing a lot of places offer different types of straps in the "standard" and "premium" ranges. Aside from the types of leather used (chromexcel, cordovan, cavalier, etc), I noticed that most standard straps are single layer/unlined and premium are double layer and/or lined.

My current watch came with I guess what I would describe as "standard" straps (i.e. they are single layer/unlined). I like the feel and softness of it, but sometimes I like the looks of the "premium" straps. Can anybody who has a double layered strap comment on how comfortable and soft/pliable the leather is?

Re: "Standard" vs "Premium" leather straps

All depends on the strap maker really Viper. Obviously the better manufacturers out there are going to cost more but there is a reason for it. For example I have a double layer strap I got from panatine for about 40 bucks... and the covering on the side of the strap basically started peeling off and tearing within 2 months. Meanwhile it started stiff and finally got a little lose over time but still not "comfortable". Got a double layer strap from Bulang and Sons that would run about 100 dollars... It was pliable and soft after about 1-2 wears, and after years still no signs of real wear and tear as long as I make sure to keep it clean and take care of it.