Tell me what to look for in a band/strap/bracelet?
Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By CastorTroy3

Thread: Tell me what to look for in a band/strap/bracelet?

Tell me what to look for in a band/strap/bracelet?

I'm on a quest for some variety, and I need some advice on what to look for. What are your thoughts on this?

Leather bands
    :
    Types of leather?
    Stitching?
    Padding?
    Brands?

NATO/Zulu/Nylon straps:
    Advantages/disadvantages of NATOs? Zulus? 2 piece? Others?
    Which grade of material/nylon is softest?
    Best color and pattern combos?
    Hardware suggestions?
    Brands?

Stainless Steel bracelet
    :
    What types are preferred...Jubilee? Oyster (what is that...BTW)?
    Solid end links vs. cheaper, hollow ends?
    Deployment clasps vs.___?
    Best budget/value brands?

I'm new at this, so thanks for entertaining my questions.

Re: Tell me what to look for in a band/strap/bracelet?

Leather bands
    :
    Types of leather?

This is really a matter of preference but I would think about how much texture And shine you like. Think most would agree that Alligator is the King of Leather and Ostrich is the queen but there is a ton of options out there. Also, same material at different price points is not really the same. There are a bunch of custom makers who have great photo galleries of various exotics and you can really see the difference. Here is an article I like and used to really do some research and venture into ultra high end straps.

Best Custom Watch Straps • Gear Patrol

personally I think that D9 and ABP have the most diverse photo gallery with various types of leathers. I haven't gone to far out yet. However, the Elephant hide strap from ABP is calling my name but unfortunately you can't order it on line. My next ultra high end is going to something real unique from ABP as I haven't used them yet.

Padding?