WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

BB58 Bezel Disassembly pictures

15K views 36 replies 26 participants last post by  D6AMIA6N 
#1 ·
My BB58 bezel was a hair off center so I took it apart and fixed it. I also was curious about how it locked in a bit tighter in the 12:00 position. I thought I would share some pictures of the watch with the bezel off/apart. Makes me want a BB36 with this dial. Note - I tend to impulsively try to fix things that might ought to be dealt with by professionals. I am not a watch mechanic. Please do not use my pictures as instructions on how to do this. I did a small amount of aesthetic damage to the case and am probably lucky I didn't break the insert.

Analog watch Watch Watch accessory Strap Fashion accessory
Fashion accessory Auto part Metal Brass Copper
Watch accessory Watch Fashion accessory Analog watch Metal
Analog watch Watch Watch accessory Fashion accessory Brown

See less See more
#3 ·
My BB58 bezel was a hair off center so I took it apart and fixed it. I also was curious about how it locked in a bit tighter in the 12:00 position. I thought I would share some pictures of the watch with the bezel off/apart. Makes me want a BB36 with this dial. Note - I tend to impulsively try to fix things that might ought to be dealt with by professionals. I am not a watch mechanic. Please do not use my pictures as instructions on how to do this. I did a small amount of aesthetic damage to the case and am probably lucky I didn't break the insert.
Yup. You're also lucky that you didn't lose the tiny little springs. Does the bezel become loose after you've reinstated it, or do you feel it is the same?

#7 ·
It feels the same. Was stiff for the first few revolutions but went back to normal. The bezel insert was tough to pop out. I took the whole thing apart a second time and it was much easier to pop out. Makes me wonder if the gunk I cleaned out from the groove the insert snaps in was a mild adhesive. It doesn't appear to be bent.