WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

Coincidence? Or more at play

2K views 24 replies 17 participants last post by  GrussGott 
#1 ·
So I just picked up an Omega AT and I was going to (temporarily) remove myself from the seemingly endless waitlist of the GMT Batman at my local AD. Called him up yesterday, and he explained that as of Monday of this week, they are no longer affiliated with Rolex??

As I’m very new to the Rolex ring, and have never owned one, i wonder what gives? Couldn’t get a peep out of him.

Would a decision to part ways like this always fall on the AD? Or does Rolex ever step in and cut ties with shops?

Sorry for the ignorance, I’ve never owned a Rolex but the Batman is a grail of mine; I guess I’ll have to fill up the gas tank to get one now when the time comes

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#3 ·
I think it goes both ways when it comes to ending business ties between AD's and Rolex. Not sure which is more common, but I have read here and have heard from people that AD's are dropped by Rolex for various reasons; including not buying enough watches that Rolex expects (I think Rolex mostly sends Datejusts and precious metal watches nowadays) and the AD not moving enough pieces to continually buy up the stuff that no one wants to buy. Rolex can also choose to not renew the contract once it ends (AD's also have that option as well). It could be that Rolex demands that the displays and store gets renovated and a prominent section dedicated to Rolex, paid by the AD, which some can't or won't do (I'll note this is a pretty common request amongst car dealerships too, I remember a few years ago, as GM was shrinking it's dealer footprint, it made renovation demands, and those that couldn't/wouldn't follow suit were dropped).