WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

I need your advice

2K views 33 replies 23 participants last post by  Alex_TA 
#1 ·
My wife has given me the OK on a new Sub and I’m wondering whether or not if I should wear it to work. I work in sales and the customers make the majority of their money from the products that I sell them. Some are very wealthy, but most are not. I’m afraid that some of them would feel that they aren’t getting a big enough piece of the pie and I could potentially lose business. I’ve been wearing a 43mm Cal 5 Aquaracer (with cyclops) and nobody has ever batted an eye, so that kind of makes me think people really don’t even pay attention. The Aquaracer is on a rubber strap, though. Should I save the Sub for the weekend or am I putting too much thought into this?

#5 ·
Most people don't pay attention. Even other "watch guys" where I work know I'm a "watch guy" and we STILL don't talk about it, except that one time. It's good you worry about offending other people though, but in my opinion, I don't think you will if you go with the Sub, just because most people won't notice (or they might even think it's an Invicta or something ha!).

I worked for a company that gave company cars to its sales force. We always got them big American pickup trucks, because we manufactured building supply materials, and contractors were our customer base, and so we tried to show them respect and that we understand them. We didn't want sales people rolling up in foreign sports cars and such; doesn't convey the right message. We also supplied them with Danner boots and a few Carhartt jackets and shirts. So I get your sensitivity to the issue. (Personally I try not to judge people like this, but I'm also a guy who has seen this sort of thing IRL).