Interested in buying Vintage Rolex 1680 1977 found one but serial doesn't seem correct!
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Interested in buying Vintage Rolex 1680 1977 found one but serial doesn't seem correct!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Interested in buying Vintage Rolex 1680 1977 found one but serial doesn't seem correct!

Hello everyone, i'm coming from Heuer, and just bought my first Omega speedmaster (still on order) and next i think i'm going with a vintage submariner (never thought i liked them till recently)

I really like the REF 1680/16800 and they seem to be around 7-10k , found one from a seller he says in his ad its a 1977 but his serial # 443##### when searched comes up as a 1974 - He doesn't have the box or papers (of course if i buy i will do due dillegence) The year 1977 is my birth year and would be nice to get a 1977, so if the serial number shows 74 as 77 would start with a 5xxxxxx is the guy just misinformed or am i missing something?

I'm new to all this, and have not gotten a reply back from the seller yet anyways.
    instagram: Tarek_307

Re: Interested in buying Vintage Rolex 1680 1977 found one but serial doesn't seem correct!

These dates are only good estimates. Itís possible anything round 4.5 million could have been sold new in 1977. Not all mechanical watches sold off a production line, especially not In the 70ís. They could sit on display for months, or maybe the case was at the wrong end of the assembly queue. Maybe it failed QC and had to be redone instead of being thrown out. Many possibilities to make you comfortable enough

Iíd confirm dial fonts and bracelet clasp codes etc to confirm and all original peice. Any pics

Cheers
    Sebast975 and CaptainCustard like this.
    Where no counsel is the people fall, but in the multitude of counsellors there is safety.

Instagram: @tophstewart

References
    All liinked in one thread
    https://forums.watchuseek.com/f63/my...rs-903425.html