Mystery Rolex

Thread: Mystery Rolex

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Mystery Rolex

Hi everyone. I am new to this brand, but I am learning much today. I have posted the following question to a couple other Rolex sites today, and although I am getting good responses, nobody has the answer quite yet.

Here are links to the original threads in case you want to read what has already been said:

http://www.rolexforums.com/showthread.php?t=148280
    http://www.network54.com/Forum/20759.../Mystery+Rolex

My original post is below:

My wife and I recently inherited several items from her deceased grandfather, one of which is the Rolex pictured in the attached images. Until yesterday I knew nothing about Rolex (except the general vague notions shared by most of the public). However, I now have this extraordinary watch in my hands, and I am trying to identify it... a task which has proven much more difficult than I imagined it would, since It does not appear to conform to any of the most commonly referenced models/pictures I have seen online.

Here is what I THINK I know about it so far:

1) It is a real Rolex (not a fake) (I could be wrong about this of course)

2) The band is 14k gold and the case is 18k gold. (this was told to me by the local ye-olde watch-fixit-shoppe here in town... the owner of which seemed quite keen to take the watch off my hands :comeandge )