Elementum Ventus Review

Thread: Elementum Ventus Review

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    tmc

Re: Elementum Ventus Pics and initial thoughts...

After having a Ventus for a few days, I thought I would add some comments to Jeff's excellent review.

A little about me: I've been collecting "high-end" (mostly swiss) watches for 17 years. My first watch of note was a Breitling Aerospace and I've always had a spot in my heart for a well made digital watch. This plus buying a black +display Core on a whim at the local REI lead me to Suunto and the Elementum.

Compared to Swiss construction, the Finnish have made a very competitive watch. The case of the Elementum is top notch with a "carved not stamped" feel to it. I appreciate the sapphire crystal, but I was (am) disappointed that it is neither glare-proofed nor domed. So in a pinch, you can use it as a mirror to fix your hair :)

The pushers operate well, although the much lauded "rotating A pusher" seems a little less than "swiss rugged" to me.

The display. Hmm. Alright, after years of Swiss watches that flawlessly pulled off legible negative displays, I don't "get it" with this watch. Why can't Suunto make a negative display with enough clarity and contrast to compete with the likes of a Breitling, TAG or RADO? From my limited understanding of LCD technology, the difference between a positive and a negative display is the polarizing filter. There's not much else to it. So I'm baffled why this is so hard to read. (And yes, I did use the double top secret mode to adjust the contrast, but no setting is even remotely as clear as, say, my Breitling B-1.)