Disclaimer: I'm a newbie to watches. I only started taking an interest in them about 7-8 months ago. My collection is varried - from Seikos to Marathons to Casio and even a Breitling (which I never wear). I don't know all of the correct terms, so I apologize in advance if I misuse nomenclature. I'm more of a layman/enthusiast at this point, so please keep this in mind as you read the review. Please feel free to correct me if I'm incorrect in any of my terminology or thought processes.

Review
I purchased my first Suunto this week from www.suuntowatches.com and would like to share my preliminary experiences with you regarding the XLander Military Edition (negative face).

The purchasing experience was teriffic. Suuntowatches.com has a fantastic website and they processed my order immediately. Within an hour of placing my order, I had received a shipping confirmation e-mail, complete with FedEx tracking number. I called Suuntowatches.com to confirm the shipping information (the details didn't indicate that the watch shipped was the Military Edition), and they answered the phone immediately and were extremely helpful and friendly. I always fear buying from someone "new," but Suuntowatches.com was absolutely fantastic to work with.

Two days after I placed my order, the watch arrived via FedEx (no charge for 2Day shipping, another plus!). The watch was well packaged - double boxed, and padded with some of those nice big "air bags" thingies.

The Suunto box is a plain white cardboard box. When you open the lid, the watch is positioned to the left of the box, and is sitting in a "slot" that's cut into the inside "shelf" of the box. I removed the watch and opened the "shelf." I found the thick instruction book, along with a quick reference card.

The watch was not set to the correct time or date when I received it - it showed April 27, 2000 and a time of 4:36am. All units were set to metric.