Ball Watch question

Thread: Ball Watch question

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Ball Watch question

Hi, everybody, good day to you, I am a freshman here! I have a silly question below:
    Do all Ball watches are with perpetual calendar? that one doesn't need to change the date the first day of every 2 months.
    Many thanks in advance!

Re: Ball Watch question

all ball watches do not come with a perpetual calendar; matter of fact i'm not sure any ball watch comes with a perpetual calendar, altho some of them do feature something called the "ball date warning system"... i have no idea what that is.

i know my em2 moonglow is not a perpetual calendar.

Perpetuals are very rare, and Ball does not make one...yet.

The date warning system is a triangle that turns from white to red and back. It turns to red between 9pm and 3am to warn you not to change the date during this time.

If you look carefully, you can make out a white triangle under the second hand:

kind regards,

scott

vintage and obscure watch lover

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

No such thing as silly questions here - only silly answers!

As Scott said, perpetual calendars are quite rare in mechanical watches, and require a very complicated movement. That usually means one thing - very expensive. They also can be a pain to have to reset if they reach the end of their power reserve. That being said, it is a great feature to have, if you can find one at an affordable price.

I presently use a Citizen eco-drive calibre 3100 Ltd. Edition as a perpetual calendar, which I like alot. It has a date window similar to the one on the Lange, and looks very classy too.

Regards,
    -Jeff
    Trivia question of the month:
    The history of the Baselworld Watch and Jewellery Show dates back to what year, when there was established the first Schweizer Mustermesse Basel (MUBA) with a special section devoted to watches and jewellery?