ETA 2836-2 vs ETA 2836-2 COSC
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By obie

Thread: ETA 2836-2 vs ETA 2836-2 COSC

freefall7

ETA 2836-2 vs ETA 2836-2 COSC

Hi all..

I understand my Engineer Master II Diver using calibre ETA 2836-2 while
    Trainmaster Cleveland Espress is calibre ETA2836-2 with COSC certification.

Does this mean both watches are using the same calibre, albeit one is with a COSC certification ?

If I am not wrong, COSC only a shown of verification that the watch has been subjected and passed a series of test (among them the -4/+6 sec daily rate spec). The test itself does not make the watch more accurate.

If that is so, does it also mean both watches will have the same accuracy ?

As I am new to automatic movement, I am presuming that accuracy of the movement mainly depends of calibre. Am I right in this sense ?

Hope any kind soul in this forum can able to enlighten me.
    Thanks in advance.

Re: ETA 2836-2 vs ETA 2836-2 COSC

Yes and no.

Within a single movement group, i.e. ETA 2836-2, there are different levels of ebauches, i.e. unfinished movements. Some ebauches are more expensive than other versions within the same group, as sometimes there can be numerous versions of the movement depending on the fit and finish of the ebauhes.

For your question, these are in fact two different ebauches, with one difference. The COSC movements come to Ball Watch already tested and certified by the COSC, as in the one used in the Cleveland Express. This means that the movement was sent to COSC and run through their multiple tests. The ones that pass get the cert and are sent back to ETA/Ball. There is a cost to test, and that is usually passed on to the end user.

The movement used in the Engineer Master II Diver is not COSC, but is still a high caliber ebauche of the ETA 2836. The movement could be COSC certified if sent to COSC, but it is not so the cost is not as expensive since it wasn't individually certified.