Looking for my first Ball watch
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Looking for my first Ball watch

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Looking for my first Ball watch

25 year watch collector, post #2 here. Newb to this forum, but not to watches. Just purchased an Omega Speedmaster from someone on this forum, so I have some skin in the game.

I'm looking for my first Ball watch. I actually special ordered an Engineer III Starlight 40mm, but after several months it never arrived so I canceled my order ;(

My dilemma has been maybe kinda silly. I'm a very analytical "numbers" guy (a programmer by trade). So I look at used prices and try to read future demand. I know, I should buy the watch I love, not as an investment. But, after getting really lucky 20+ years ago with some now very popular Rolex watches, my "wants" in a watch is that it won't lose 90% of it's value if I ever try to sell it.

So... I see a lot of $2000ish retail Ball watches that people are begging to give away for $500 or even less. For that reason, I'm probably looking for a used Ball watch, so the initial price-hit is already factored in.

I'd like to go with a non-black dial (blue or green), and not a diver (have too many black-faced and black bezel watches). An exhibition case-back would be high on my list, as I've had a thing for that since my very first watch (a Seiko Kinetic). Also, since the tritium is the star of a Ball watch, I want lots of radiation (T over T25 markings). I've have 2 adult "kids" so I'm not worried about becoming sterile =)

Any suggestions? Anyone have one that they feel would fit my checklist that you're willing to part with?

Thanks for giving this "newb" a chance.

Tim

Re: Looking for my first Ball watch

I've got an Engineer Master II Voyager. It is the 40mm blue version.
    https://shop.ballwatch.ch/en/vpr

If you're interested, let me know

Sent from my Pixel 3a XL using Tapatalk
    lvt likes this.