Newbie, Aviator Dual Time, changing date do's and don'ts question, please help.

Thread: Newbie, Aviator Dual Time, changing date do's and don'ts question, please help.

Hello all!

I am pretty new to mechanical watches in general and recently put an order for a Ball Enginer Master II Aviator Dual time. Specs list is as an Automatic caliber Ball RR1301.

As I said I am still learning about owning and operating an automatic mechanical watch, but the first thing I ran into was the big warning about when to not change the date on them.

What happened is this. I originally was going to purchase a watch with an ETA Valjoux 7750 movement and was told never to change the date between 9 and 3. So this was the extent of my knowledge about when not to change dates on a mechanical.

When my watch arrived at the dealer today and went to size it, the owner explained how to set it and said not to set the date between 10 and 2. Something I hadn't heard of up to now but obviously trusted his advice. He then proceeded to move the hands from the danger zone and left it at around 9:15. He then adjusted the date. All good up to that point. He then advances the time past 12 and date doesn't change, no prob it must have been noon. Swings it a full twelve hours to twelve again, and no date change. Even he raised an eyebrow, but kept going.. 12 again date changes no issue.

Didn't think anything of it till I cracked open the general issue manual (believe it is a manual that is included with all their watches as it talks about many features my watch doesn't have), and the manual states not to change the date between 8pm and 2am!​ My heart skipped a beat. Did the owner mess up my watch?? Is ball just being overly cautious? I don't know enough about this and I am sad and scared my brand new watch may be already damaged in some way.

So which is it?? 9 and 3? 10 and 2? 8 and 2!?