Old Ball

Thread: Old Ball

Old Ball

I have been looking for a new watch for a while now and have always had a soft place for Ball time pieces. My father was a locomotive engineer and handed me his Ball 999B Pocket Watch when he retired. It's in perfect running order and has the wear and tear that so many of these pocket watches had while in active service. It is priceless to me. I use it on special occasions and keep it cleaned and lubed.

I'm also a locomotive engineer with nearly 30 years of service and as I get older, my short vision has deteriorated, especially at night. The tritium gas has the luminescence I'm looking for, at least that's how I'm selling it to myself. I just need to decide on the model.

In days gone by, railway men had to have a certified watch examined by a watch inspector every 6 months as train movements required careful timings to avoid mishaps. These inspections were done in my time of railroading, but not anymore. Railroads in North America have for the most part become safer and more modernized to avoid human time errors. Having a certified railway grade watch is no longer required by most carriers.

I will be acquiring a new Ball watch mostly for nostalgic reasons, but my intention is that it will be used as a functioning watch for train movements. Enjoy the attached picture of the works inside a Ball 999B Railway Pocket Watch.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Old Ball

Wow, that is just amazing. Not only do you have a classic old Ball, but it is a family watch as well!

Thanks for taking the time to post these shots (how about a few more, please!). Good luck in your hunt for a new Ball. Tough choice; they have a lot of great models, but one will "speak" to you (as the TZers say).
    Steve

I'm delighted that a railroad engineer has found the Ball Forum.
    Shadowfax, your Dad's 999B is a beauty. What stories it could tell.
    What first drew me to modern Ball Watches was the heritage.