Question about Ball Watch and Currier & Ives prints

Thread: Question about Ball Watch and Currier & Ives prints

Question about Ball Watch and Currier & Ives prints

I have a Currier and Ives lithograph that is entitled "American Railroad Scene, SnowBound". At the bottom of the print are the words "The Ball Company, Our 76th Year, On Time" with the years 1865-1941. I am assuming this is referring to the anniversary of the Ball Watch Company. Does anybody else agree? Also, was Ball Watch really started in 1865? I have found conflicting information on the internet. Just thought I would see what Ball Watch enthusiasts think. Take a look at the following photos for more detailed info. Thank you in advance for any feedback!
    Jennifer

http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/a...DSCF0024-1.jpg
    http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/a...DSCF0026-2.jpg
    http://i200.photobucket.com/albums/a...DSCF0030-1.jpg

Re: Question about Ball Watch and Currier & Ives prints

Jennifer,
    I'm no expert, but I don't think that's right on the date. My understanding is that Webb C. Ball started his own business in 1879. The infamous train collision that resulted in the deaths of engineers and postal workers was in 1891, and I think the company went corporate in that same year, but I believe it was called the Webb C. Ball Company (or something like that). The corporate name referenced in your litho is close enough that it makes sense, but the year just doesn't sound right to me.

True Ball corporate historians like Jeff Hess would know this for sure.

Regards,
    -Jeff
    Last edited by Timewaster; December 3rd, 2008 at 05:32.
    Trivia question of the month:
    The history of the Baselworld Watch and Jewellery Show dates back to what year, when there was established the first Schweizer Mustermesse Basel (MUBA) with a special section devoted to watches and jewellery?
    ~Click on my profile and look under my biography for the answer.
    Quote of the month: