Review: Ball Engineer II Aviator GMT

Thread: Review: Ball Engineer II Aviator GMT

Review: Ball Engineer II Aviator GMT

I am celebrating month three with my Ball Aviator GMT. I am a fan of pilot style watches and also was looking for something with a light dial.
    The first Aviator at 46mm, was just a tad too big, so when the GMT came out at 44mm, I was excited.

This soon became my third Ball Watch, fifth if you count my Vintage Trainmaster and Liz’ Trainmaster Sixty Seconds Model.
    Below is my review of the Ball Engineer Master II Aviator GMT.

Case/Crown: At 44mm, the case is substantial without being overpowering on my 6.5 inch wrist. Like all Ball watches, the fit and finish are perfect!

The screw in crown is operates very smoothly, making it a pleasure to operate.

The caseback is solid, and features a classic Ball scene on the back (the non GMT Aviator features a different case back with a Wright Brothers Motif-I believe later GMT’s are also being shipped with this caseback.)

The dial is a beautiful cream color, which is just stunning when the sunlight hits it and equally stunning at night. For those who are fans of a simple, clutter free dial, this one is a winner!

The show continues in the evening. With 13 tritium gas tubes, each filled to the US legal limit of just under 100 millicures, this is the brightest watch I have ever encountered over the course of an evening. Tritium Tubed watches have long been noted for their “staying power,” but some felt that they couldn't’t compete with SL for initial lume. Well, with the Aviator Model, Ball has addressed that and within mere minutes, the watch is brighter than any SL watch. The additional “power” also makes the watch a breeze to read in low light conditions.