Why are Ball watches so underrated?
Like Tree82Likes

Thread: Why are Ball watches so underrated?

Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

So the question is in the title

For quality and sheer bang for you buck I think they are really great; they also include some really interesting/cool complications yet nobody ever really talks about them or they are rarely featured in online reviews/news etc.

I am biased though; owning 2x of their timepieces (legend and Magneto). For myself I like niche/interesting/offbeat watches which initially drew me to Ball; but owning them for a few years now I still cant understand why its only watch aficionados that really know about them.

Probably down to publicity? Small company with a small budget for advertising? Maybe they are just too humble... Anyone have another opinion?
    axinnel likes this.

Re: Why are Ball watches so underrated?

I think you are correct. We now have four in the household. I have an Trainmaster Roman, roman numerals, probably the most elegant of any watch I own, an Engineer III Starlight, and a Fireman Glory. I also for Christmas got my wife what is simply listed as a Ladies Automatic, which is almost a perfect match to the larger Glory, the only difference being the position of the date window. We are not into the tactical, diver, or more complicated dials, preferring classic elegant looking watches. and these fit the bill nicely.

I think you’re right. The big marketing budget of Rolex and Omega makes it hard to not know about them. Watch the olympics, golf, or any racing sport and you’ll most likely see one of the big names advertising everywhere. You see Rolex advertising in airports, billboards on highways, and in malls across the US. I’ve never seen a Ball advertisement.