Sinn U1 SDR - Five Years In
Like Tree36Likes

Thread: Sinn U1 SDR - Five Years In

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Sinn U1 SDR - Five Years In

Hey everyone, I haven't posted here in a long time but thought I would throw up some pics and a few words. I lurked around this forum for a while back in 2010-11 as I was looking into and finally got hold of a Sinn U1 SDR with large deployant. I have been wearing this watch as a daily beater for five years and have been blown away by how tought this thing is.

The Sinn U1 has been my first 'proper watch' and will certainly not be my last. I work as a cop and wear this watch all the time when on and off duty. It has been through a lot, scrapes and bruises, high impact encounters, even the old scuba dive and spearfishing session. As you can see from the attached photos, I certainly do not baby this watch and have lost count of the times I have pranged it or bashed into a wall, door etc. What amazes me is not that the watch is slightly bashed but that it is still functioning amazingly well and only gains a few seconds per day.

What this watch means to me cannot be put down in mere words. As I age and work to support my family I feel that the battle scars and marks on this watch show the hardships I go through on a daily basis, as well as marking time with its hands it seems to be storing the passage of years in its dings and scratches. I hope, and I say this without being morbid, that when I have finished with my few years on this planet that my kids will hold my watch, feel it and get a sense of my life and what I wore this watch through. That may be a bit of a sentimental view but I really look upon this watch as a piece of heritage that one day my kids will keep and hopefully use.