What year was the 656 first introduced?
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By harry_flashman
  • 2 Post By shapz
  • 1 Post By blockiestcurve

Thread: What year was the 656 first introduced?

What year was the 656 first introduced?

Does anyone know the first year that the Sinn 656 was introduced? EDIT - The Sinn 656 was first introduced in 2002.

This version is rated at 10 bar. Does anyone know if Sinn made changes to the 656 design to upgrade it to 20 bar, or if they only did more rigorous testing to realize the 10 bar models held up to 20 bar?

I recently picked up a 656 that was produced in 2002. I immediately sent it off for repair and servicing at RGM because the crown tube was stripped. While I'm eagerly awaiting that process to finish up, I'm reaching out to learn more about the watch.
    Last edited by blockiestcurve; May 30th, 2018 at 15:32.

Re: What year was the 656 first introduced?

Hello, I believe the 656 was discontinued in 2011.

I am not an expert with the 656, but looked in some of my old Wristwatch Annuals (ed. Peter Braun). In the 2003 Wristwatch Annual, it lists the 656 WR at 10 Bar.

Name:  F60F9DF5-E898-4566-BE0A-42A9508DC5DF.jpeg
Views: 128
Size:  2.32 MB

Similarly, the 2006 Wristwatch Annual also lists the specifications for WR at 10 bar.

Name:  0ECD6FCF-AA09-4AE0-AAB1-F668FF25DCA6.jpeg
Views: 122
Size:  2.07 MB

However, when I look at the Sinn’s online archive, the 656 is stated to have a WR of 20 bar.

https://www.sinn.de/en/Modell/656.htm

Of course, there could be an error on the part of Wristwatch Annual, or even Sinn. What is engraved on the back of your 656?

My unscientific hypothesis is as follows. The original 656 was WR to 10 bar. However when Sinn introduced the 556 (late 2007, early 2008), that watch had WR of 20 bar, and was in a case of the similar dimensions. It could be that after Sinn developed the 556, subsequent 656s were made in a bead-blasted 556 case, with the accompanying 20 bar WR?
    blockiestcurve likes this.