Orient Constellation DJ02002B
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Dr_Ben

Thread: Orient Constellation DJ02002B

Orient Constellation DJ02002B

My last automatic watch was a Bulova, which I received as a gift when I graduated university, in 1964. Since then, all my watches have been quartz movements.

I've been looking for a mechanical watch for a while, but was having trouble finding the right one with my relatively tight budget. I was looking for something more fashionable than the diver watches I've been wearing for several years. A black dial was a must, as was a GMT feature. The case and band had to be stainless steel and the size had to be no more than about 42mm. I had to make one compromise. I wanted a watch with numerals for all 12 hours (arabic or roman). In the end, I took a model with 3 roman numerals (for VI, IX and XII) and markers for the other 9 hours.

Until recently, I had never heard of Orient watches (or that they were a Seiko-owned company). A couple of their models caught my eye. The two that interested me the most were the Constellation and the Star.

I finally chose the Orient Constellation DJ02002B, with a black dial and ss band; I ordered one from Discount Watch Store (after learning that they were an authorized Orient dealer).

Name:  Orient BE.jpg
Views: 1578
Size:  49.0 KB

The price was less than half the MSRP and I used the store's "Make an offer" button. They refused my offer, but quoted a price that was very reasonable, and I bought the watch. It was immediately shipped and I received it in Québec, Canada, two days later.

The watch's accuracy has so far been very good. The daily rate is always about +3s. The overall average after 13 days is +2.9s. I wear the watch about 16 hours a day and leave it lying face up over night.