Orient Power Reserve CEX0P001B

Thread: Orient Power Reserve CEX0P001B

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Orient Power Reserve CEX0P001B

Orient Power Reserve model CEX0P001B

I just received this watch yesterday (8/7/09) so I haven’t had a chance to draw any long-term conclusions. However, it’s one that won me over from the moment I first saw it. I’m going to keep this review brief because of my short history with the watch, and because I’m not an expert by any definition. You can draw your own conclusions about the watch’s aesthetic qualities based on the photos.

Here’s the technical info that’s posted on Orient’s Web site:

Band: Genuine Leather
    Power Reserve: Power Reserve Indicator
    Crystal: Mineral Crystal
    Movement: Orient\'s 21 Jewel Self Winding Mechanical Movement.
    Clasp: Deployment Clasp With Buckle
    Case Measurement: 42mm

I measured the width with the crown at 43mm and the thickness at 12mm. I don’t know what the movement caliber is, though. Maybe someone here can provide that.

This watch is very comfortable on my 7-in.-dia. wrist, and I’m confident that it would look and feel good on almost anyone’s wrist. Because of its slim profile and leather band, it feels as light as a feather compared to a Mako, for instance. According to my postal scale, it weighs about 3 oz. Clearly, this is a refined dress watch.

The case is beautifully finished with a pleasing combination of finely brushed and highly polished surfaces. The watch’s design and execution are nearly perfect -- there’s not a rough edge or clumsy design element. Notice in the photo below how the Orient logo on the crown is crisply engraved.

The slightly domed crystal complements the flowing lines of the watch without being obtrusive. And there’s no problem with reflection when viewing the face from almost any angle. The edge of the crystal flows directly into the brushed and polished bezel, which reinforces the watch’s integrated design.