WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

Seiko SBDX001 Marine Master vs. Orient Star WZ0251FD 300m Review!

14K views 21 replies 16 participants last post by  JohnA 
#1 ·
i'm not sure if these 2 watches have been reviewed together. but, now that i have these 2 bad boys, i decided to take some pics of them. now, i'm not a horological expert by no means ;-), so i'll just let the pics do most of the talking...

as you can see, the os300 dwarfes the mm300 in both width...

...and height!!!
i like them both equally, but there's a few things that are very different between these two watches, besides the size.
- their movements (to me of course ;-)) are equal. i mean this purely in their accuracy. the os300 has kept an amazingly -0.5 sec/day right out of the box. the mm300 runs an excellent -2 sec/day. i know the mm300's got the "higher grade" high beat movement and it can be hacked and handwound, but, the os300's slowbeat, non-hacking/handwinding movement will rack up reserve time very quickly!
- bezel insert (though they're not really inserts..at least in the mm300's case) goes to the os300. it's very scratchproof, matte black, has the cool white numbers...i don't know...i just like it :-!! the mm300's is polished and scratches very easily, plus since it's actually a part of the bezel, it'll need replacing if it's badly scratched up. i wish seiko had used a ceramic or sapphire cover for the bezel...oh well, it does still rock :-d. i like the looks, just not it's toughness, or lack thereoff.
- bezel action is equal, except the mm300 is a 120 while the os300 is a 60 click bezel.
- bezel edge or outer edge of the bezel definately goes to the seiko. it's mean AND elegant at the same time. it's seriously, imho, the best looking bezel edge!!! the os300's is too "rolex like" for me.
- dial/readability. i like them both...but, the date on the os300 is a bit small. the seiko's dial is more elegant looking also. i think if i had the black os300, i could do more of a fair comparision here.