Couple of old divers
Like Tree9Likes
  • 8 Post By Flyingdoctor
  • 1 Post By MHe225

Thread: Couple of old divers

Couple of old divers

Went to Galveston today to see the USS Cavalla and USS Stewart. Took along another old diver to visit with an even older one, SS-244 - USS Cavalla. Really great day out. Highly recommended if you are down that way. I used to be a ship surveyor many moons ago and crawled through some pretty nasty double bottom and forepeak tanks but I'm a a complete wuss compared to the real men who served on those ships during the war. People like me just live in their world, they own it.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Couple of old divers

Pete,

you should have let me know that you were in my "backyard" - everything is relative, but given the size of Texas ...... We could have met up, toured the boats together, have lunch, tell big lies and compare watches. Maybe next time?
    It was a glorious day, yesterday, in this part of the world. Hope you've enjoyed your visit. By the way, did you ever visit the USS Texas (BB-35) in La Porte, TX. It's not a diver (although, slowly becoming one ..... big $$ needed to keep the thing afloat), but definitely worth a visit. If I remember well, this is the only (US?) battleship that has fought in both WWI and WWII.

Name:  110521_USS_Texas_29.jpg.jpg
Views: 116
Size:  169.9 KB

Name:  110521_USS_Texas.jpg
Views: 117
Size:  951.6 KB
    Paul Ramon likes this.

As always, Doc, nice pics! Thanks for sharing.
    Omar Montaño

"The best way to observe a fish is to become a fish" - Jacques-Yves Cousteau

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Vancouver Island / California (depending on the citizenship I use)

How's the Texas doing? I heard it was listing a bit to starboard.
    Daily Rotation:
    Seiko
    "Save the Ocean" Turtle; Tudor Black Bay; DOXA 1000T Project Aware (75/92); Seiko SKX013; Garmin Descent; Tissot PRS200

Quote Originally Posted by TheWalrus