Incoming 5000T Caribbean

Thread: Incoming 5000T Caribbean

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Incoming 5000T Caribbean

I'm new to the Doxa forum (this is my first post here but I am active at the OCEAN7 site), and because of all the praise for this brand, and an excellent writeup in the August issue of WatchTime Magazine, I just ordered a 5000T Caribbean (just love the white hands on the blue dial). Couldn't pass it up at the sale price!

I'm a sucker for big dive watches but I've only got a 7.25" wrist. Some of the other members that have this watch have 8+" wrists so I'm wondering if I will be able to lift my arm

I'm no diver and I was wondering how many others just get these watches for the 'cool factor', like me.

I have a few questions for the group...

1) When the watch comes, what size wrist does it fit out of the box? And how easy is it to add/remove links from the bracelet? Doxa's website says to have a professional do it.

2) I'd also like to be able to swap the bracelet with a rubber strap cos I think the rubber strap looks more rugged when I'm out hiking, and then change it back to the bracelet when I'm out on the town. I did see the thread on the Hirsch Extreme rubber strap. Again, I emailed Doxa and they said that the watch is meant to be on a bracelet and too many people ruin the screws when doing this. Is it just the first time because the screws are tight? Do you need a special tools?

3) The WatchTime 5000T review states:

"On average it loses about one second per day; in the dial positions the movement runs faster (at about +2.0 seconds per day) then in the crown positions, in which it varies between -2.0 and -3.0 seconds each day; al in all, good results."

What exactly does this mean? What are 'dial' and 'crown' positions?

4) Does the 'T' in '5000T' mean anything?