Airman Automatic

Thread: Airman Automatic

Airman Automatic

Just wanted to introduce myself; my name is Phil, and I'm a molecular biologist in the Fort Collins, Colorado area. I received my Airman Automatic (my first Stowa watch) this morning, so I just wanted to tell everyone my impressions.
    First and foremost, what everyone says about Stowa's excellent customer service is true in my experience. The watch took a little longer to ship than I expected, but I understand there were some supplier delays that set things back in the shop for many of the models; not much anyone could do about that, so no big deal. Viveca Hafner was very helpful and responsive to my questions, and offers Stowa an excellent link to the public. On to the watch itself:
    The watch is the standard Airman Automatic (you are all very familiar with it, so I won't bother with pics, unless someone wants pics from a specific angle that they can't see on the Stowa website). I love the size. It's pretty large on me, but not absurd. The Airman Original was tempting, but I cycle through a few watches each week, and I'm not sure I can deal with a manual one right now, so that's why I went with the auto. The fit and finish are great, and the overall look is simple and clean. The display back is nice, but of course the 2824 movement is no beauty. I got the watch with the old style riveted strap, and it's of a very good quality-whoever is making the straps for Stowa is doing a good job-well worth the asking price.
    Overall, this is a good, basic watch, and probably worth more than the asking price. It already makes me want one of the Marine models, and makes me understand the demand you guys and gals have for the limited models that feature different, more adorned movements.
    Hope this has been useful to someone, and I apologize if it more appropriately belongs in the reviews forum.
    Phil

Re: Airman Automatic