Flieger Klassik 6498
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Flieger Klassik 6498

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Flieger Klassik 6498

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to watches and have questions my newbie mind can't seem to google. I'm looking into buying a Klassik 6498 without second hand.

Does the UNITAS 6498-1 movement, that is in the watch, have "empty" crown positions; i.e. when you pull a crown into position that does nothing? Usually present with movements that have a date function, but the watch itself doesn't. I can't stand that, it feels like I'm handling a cheap watch. Or am I weird in feeling this way? From what I've been able to find online, the UNITAS 6498-1 does indeed have the date function capabilities. Did Stowa somehow adjust the crown or not?

The diameter of the watch is 41 mm - is the dial bigger or is the case bigger (like with their Sport model) compared to Klassik 40?

Does the winding movement wind indefinitely, or does it stop you from further winding after it is fully wound? For example, my automatics that can also be hand wound can be wound indefinitely, whereas my handwinding watches can only be wound until the power reserve is full.

I'm also looking at the Flieger 40 automatic - does this one have "empty" crown positions? How does the winding work there?

Last but not least, anyone have any hints, tips, objections to buying the 6498 for a complete newbie? I do not mind the handwinding every morning, so this is not an issue.

Thank you everyone for any input, your help is greatly appreciated!
    Best regards

Flieger Klassik 6498

Quote Originally Posted by fracture. View Post

Does the UNITAS 6498-1 movement, that is in the watch, have "empty" crown positions; i.e. when you pull a crown into position that does nothing?

The diameter of the watch is 41 mm - is the dial bigger or is the case bigger (like with their Sport model) compared to Klassik 40?