Quite A Few Stowa Airman Questions Here

Thread: Quite A Few Stowa Airman Questions Here

Quite A Few Stowa Airman Questions Here

Okay,

So admittedly I'm just getting into the nice mechanical watch thing. I've always just worn regular old Citizen's and the like however I'm at a place in my life where I can maybe afford one nice mechanical watch and I've got it narrowed down to a few, but have really been leaning towards the Airman as it's just got everything I want. Simplicity, looks, and the blue dials are what tipped me over the edge (and I'm just not happy with the Oris BC3 I bought).

Anyways, on to the questions.

The Airman Original and the Airman Automatic:

I assume that the Airman Original is a wind version, and is a bit bigger. However are there any other substantial differences for the price jump?

I'm probably going to lean towards the Airman Automatic and was wondering around how many seconds a day they typically gain? Does getting one with a date display make any difference?

Would it be a good idea for me to buy a used Stowa? Does the warranty carry to a new owner? Is there a warranty at all?

How durable are they?

Anyone with a bad experience with their Airman?

General Mechanical Watch Questions:

Where can I find a good book to read that will give me all the basic "Watches For Dummies" information? All these abbreviations and coded movement models are making my head spin!

Sorry for all the newb questions, but I just want to be an informed consumer before I commit this much money to this.

Thanks for any and all help on my watch search.

Oh by the way the other watches I'm considering are the Sinn 656 and Revue Thommen Airspeed.

Thanks!

David

stuffler,mike

Re: Quite A Few Stowa Airman Questions Here

Quote Originally Posted by McSoappy View Post
    I assume that the Airman Original is a wind version, and is a bit bigger. However are there any other substantial differences for the price jump?